Protected Utility engagement framework

The Protected Utility blueprint provides a validated and secure design for government agencies to standardise the way you work as well as communicate and collaborate securely.

As we appreciate this is a large and complex process to undertake, we have created this engagement framework as a step-by-step change guide to understanding how the Protected Utility blueprint can be used in your agency. It is designed to support your agency’s self-discovery and help you navigate the blueprint adoption process in a way that’s easy, clear and consistent – so your people will realise the maximum value of adopting the new ways of working faster.

The engagement framework has five approximate stages. These stages are fluid and may happen concurrently or in cycles:

  1. Connect and Align
  2. Prepare and Design
  3. Deploy and Embed
  4. Adopt and Engage
  5. Assess and Advocate

The framework contains suggestions, tools, templates, and guidance for successfully adopting the blueprint. It is not intended to be a prescriptive, ‘tick the box’, or one-size-fits all model. Instead, it is intended for agencies to use as required and adapt to their business needs and modernisation journey.

Summary of key resources

We have selected the following important resources to assist you in your change journey to adopt the blueprint. These resources are equivalent to the information contained on this webpage, but in downloadable and shareable format.

Design principles

The engagement framework is designed in accordance with the following principles:

  1. Best Practice: The engagement framework draws upon best practice change management, business analysis and technology implementation expertise.
  2. Clear: The engagement framework outlines the blueprint adoption process in a way that’s easy, clear and consistent – so your people can realise the maximum value of adopting the new ways of working faster.
  3. Self-direction: The engagement framework is designed to support your agency’s self-discovery, so you can use the engagement framework in your technology environment based on your agency’s objectives.
  4. Relevant: The framework supports you to understand and link existing people, process and technology initiatives to the engagement framework, so it’s aligned with your needs.
  5. Flexible: We understand that each agency’s circumstances and starting points are different, so each phase in the engagement framework is flexible to enable you to navigate the process in line with your agency’s needs.
  6. Proven: The engagement framework outlines a validated Whole of Government approach that the DTA recommends for agencies to use.

DTA support

DTA will support you via access to:

Engagement framework phases

The engagement framework, in summary, contains the following phases. We have developed a visual overview to simplify this information onto one page:

Engagement framework

The following information describes the visual.

1. Connect and Align

This is where you start your blueprint adoption experience. The Connect and Align phase is about setting you up with a clear understanding of the path ahead; for how to use the blueprint and how to align it to your business needs.

A large part of this phase is about being able to self-identify your agency type. We can also put you in touch with other agencies who have implemented technology based on the blueprint, which you can read about in our case studies. You may also register an account on the Community Portal to share ideas and ask questions.

2. Prepare and Design

In the Prepare and Design phase, it’s time to start planning your transition to the blueprint. To arm yourself with the right information to develop an effective plan, this phase will take you through the relevant assessments you’ll need to carry out to understand your starting point in terms of your business (systems and processes); your people (who will be impacted and how); and your technology. For example, you may like to assess your technology maturity or business strategy.

3. Deploy and Embed

This is where the rubber hits the road and we begin the blueprint implementation. The Deploy and Embed phase is designed to support you to adopt a Modern Workplace on the blueprint design, which is available to use in your agency’s ICT environment and plan for business change.

Often, a vendor (a technology partner or systems integrator) is required to assist the customer through the technology aspects of this process, while an organisational change management partner could assist you roll out and plan the change.

Additionally, you may like to use some of the communications material we have provided to develop messaging to sell the implementation to your various stakeholder groups.

4. Adopt and Engage

Even the best systems in the world will fail if people don’t engage with them. That’s why intentional steps are recommended to engage, upskill and motivate your teams as they transition to new ways of working. The Adopt and Engage phase is designed to empower leaders with a clear vision for business change as your agency moves to a Modern Workplace. Before you do this however, you may like to assess your business readiness to adopt the change.

5. Assess and Advocate

Technology is always changing and improving. At this final stage of the engagement, we would appreciate your participation in helping us continually improve the blueprint adoption experience. By actively engaging with the Whole of Government community, sharing your learnings on the Community Portal, and participating in evaluation of the blueprint, you will make the experience better for future adaptations and new agency adopters. We have also developed an operations model which outlines and cost estimates the key roles and skills required to adopt the blueprint in agencies.

Found an issue with the material above or have general feedback? Let us know over on Github.